Meet the bubbly blondie behind A Piece of Elise

Elise Purdon, the 23 year old Canadian born, fresh face graduate behind the blog, A piece of Elise, took us to the newest branch of Gram at EmQuartier last week where we explored their newest menu – decked out with Superfood bowls, organic gourmet salads, booster protein smoothies and healthy green juices. It was a stylish and clean pick for a true fashionista as we both were entertained by how colourful our ordered dishes were – it was an Instagram flat-lay perfection!

Elise also recently celebrated her blog’s one year anniversary and it’ s a hit as her blondie locks definitely stands out from the local Bangkok fashion crowd. A Piece of Elise energetic vibes is exactly just like Elise’s personality. Let’s find out what this bubbly babe has planned after graduation, her fashion aspirations, blogging journey so far and her experience living and blogging overseas.

 1. How did you get started with your blog?

I started my blog last year as I was finishing up my business degree. I was so obsessed with clothes that even during economics class I would be day dreaming about shoes, so I decided I needed to do something with my fashion energy or I may never make it out of school. Hence, A Piece of Elise was born!

2. How has your blog evolved since your started until now?

I wouldn’t say my blog has evolved a lot, but my comfort and confidence in the act of blogging has evolved immensely. It has been 1 year since I made APOE and my first posts were very shy and awkward, whereas now I feel happy and comfortable in front of the camera. I am also much for confident in my personal style and with speaking about fashion to others. However, the core identity of A Piece of Elise has remained the same over the past year – it is somewhere I share my fashion obsessions in an approachable, fun and easy going way. Having said that, there are some BIG changes coming to APOE in the next few months, so stay tuned because this will probably be the blog’s biggest changes yet!

3. Do you have any fashion icons/inspirations?

I absolutely love Rachel Zoe. I think she has such iconic personal style – she’s been wearing flared jeans for the past 5 years when everyone was wearing the skinny leg, but now flare is coming back. She is also glamourous and classy – she never shows her legs! She is also an extremely successful self made business woman, who also has a family. She has pretty much managed to brand the idea of being a stylist, which is something that would have seemed “un-brandable” a decade ago. Talk about a fashion lover’s role model!

4. How would you describe your personal style?

My personal style could be described as random. The thoughts going on in my head are often shared through what I wear. If I’m feeling like a party, you will probably catch me in a dress. If I’m lazy, possibly silk PJ’s in public. When I have a business meeting and I feel intimidated, I will probably dress was above my age. If I’m hyper, maybe I’ll wear something crazy! Having said that, my style is always changing, but one thing that remains the same is that it is always quite feminine.

dsc_0485

dsc_0007

5. Blogging in Bangkok: best moments and tough challenges?

Blogging in Bangkok is great because there aren’t many bloggers, which means that I may have more readership that I would in a city that is saturated with them. Having said that, this can also be a disadvantage because it means I have less blogger friends to hang out with and to learn from. It also means that many brands haven’t worked with bloggers before, nor do they understand how it can benefit them. This means I spend a lot of time talking with brands and working out the details before I can create the content for them. It is also difficult because I can’t write Thai, although it would mean the world to communicate with my Thai readers in their native language. Having my blog in both languages is something that I dream of!

 Emquartier Garden2    Emquartier Garden

6. How do you set yourself apart from other bloggers?

I set myself apart from really trying to be myself and to be approachable. So much of fashion blogging these days is appearing glamourous and having a fake facade, whereas A Piece of Elise is all about laughter, having fun and simply creating a community of love. Wow, how cheesy am I?! Anyways, you will rarely see my posts without a smile, which is because I try not to take myself too seriously, which I something I think more bloggers should do!

b_P0Cgu9Wh5W81nN7yoHIVZa25ICbw-LspIhWgURusc

7. Most rewarding moments as a blogger?

My most rewarding moment as a blogger was when I had 3 women in the same day tell me that they have made fashion decisions based upon things they found on my blog! This was a bit scary for me, given that sometimes I forget that there are so many readers behind my computer, but it was also a dream come true! When they said that I really felt to excited to know that people trust my opinions, value what I say and above all are actually really reading my blog!!!

8.How do you go from blogging for fun to blogging as a job?

I think the harder you work, the more your audience grows and then eventually people want to work with you as a marketing tool to gain exposure for their brands. It doesn’t happen on it’s own, it takes time and you got to put in the hours, but if you love it then it won’t feel like work!

9. Favorites brands?

Ek Thongprasert Necklaces – I’m obsessed with his work…. and him… 😛

10. Summer trends this season?

It seems to be all about fringe bags and gladiator sandals! I love summer season because it’s often more casual and all about beachy waves, sunnies and having fun. However, by the end of summer I’m always excited for serious winter fashion and layering too!

11. The next project you’re most excited about?

MY OWN COLLECTION! This is my first time announcing this publicly, so if you’re reading this you’re getting the inside scoop. I won’t reveal details yet, but it’s exciting and if you know me you won’t be surprised about what I’ve got coming because it’s my favorite fashion thing in the world! Stay tuned!

12. Any challenges to living abroad in Thailand?

This is a HUGE questions. There are always challenges, but my opinions and perspectives of Thailand are always changing. I’m not going to touch upon differences such a individuality and collectivism, which might be what I struggle with most, but that would take essays to complete! Instead, I’m just going to talk about people, traffic and heat! Growing up in Canada, where we have a population of almost zero, in a country where traffic is 2 cars and temperatures are cold, I basically moved to the complete opposite. That in itself has posed a lot of challenges! It though taking outfit photos outside in the 40 degree heat!

Q45a-s1G1LUlEZcHUi7HqvtEcPEky4xRjFWH-e-JJoc

13. Now that you’ve graduated where do u see your blog in 5 years time?

I plan to created higher quality content. I will have more time to make things even more interesting for the readers! Exciting! I am also going to have some original products coming your way soon. I also might start some YouTube, but that isn’t for sure yet. Got to stop being scared of video first!

Well, we spent the day with Elise and she definitely was a natural in front of the camera! Stay tuned to find out more about her tips and tricks of creating a beautiful Instagram following and how to make your feed stand out! Be sure to follow her on Instagram @apoelise and fun blog www.apieceofelise.com

20150307-4n8a5463-01-2

xxx

Photo credit: Kenny and APOE Blog

One thought on “Meet the bubbly blondie behind A Piece of Elise

Leave a comment